deutsche version

please give me your opinion


related to the boardgame of the same name, which was published by Hans-im-Glück publisher/germany.

Emergence

to the development of the windows version of Yucata' it came rather coincidentally: after I had purchased the game in a department store of Paderborn and a short trying out i liked the simplicity of the rules and the strict logic and strategy of the game. At the same time I intended to try out a few programming techniques which were taught to me at the university. Since I program games in my spare time gladly, I decided to take Yucata' for a boardgame conversion to a windows based version. The current version represents a provisional termination: there are still many possibilities for improvement. A network interface would be a good idea, so that one could play the boardgame in the local area network or over internet with several persons...

(Hi-)Story

"In the deepest rain forests of Mexico, near the town of Palenque, stands the Mayan Sun temple. Here in 1995, the famous archaeologist and games expert Stefan Dorra, discovered the remains of an ancient game. He used these to reconstruct the game, probably last played around 1300 A.D. The spaces on the board of Yucata' exactly match the ground plan of this renowned archaeological site. The pale and dark stones in the game represent good and evil influences, which the players seek to collect, or avoid. Probably Yucata' was played solely by Mayan priests, as part of their ancient rituals, but there aren't many Mayan priests around these days, so it's probably safe enough to play the game, without any risk of angering the Gods."

Installation

After downloading the file "YucataSetup.exe" (size: 2.8 MB, current version: v1.8.1 english/german/french/czech) on your computer you simply have to start the installation process by activating the Yucata.exe self extracting archive - don't worry, all executables are scanned by McAfee-Virusscanner and therefore should not contain any virus. Recommended for successful installing is a Windows 95/98-system, a computer with at least 32MB RAM and a HiColor VGA (with at least 65536 colours). With 256 colors it also works, but the colors are very falsified. You find a detailed explanation of the gamerules and the program operation after the installation in the help menu of the program. For reading the help files the Microsoft Internet Explorer Version 3.0 or higher is necessary (some earlier installations of Windows 95 also need the following service package released by Microsoft: HHUPD.exe size: 700 kB). If the Setup shouldn't work properly you might have to install an update of the Microsoft Windows Installer Engine (a subsystem of the operating system). The corresponding releases you'll find here:

Windows Installer for Windows NT.
Windows Installer for Windows 9x.

e-Contact

Questions, ideas and improvement suggestions (or if you only want to tell me, whether you like the game or not) please send your words to feedback@tobias-schilgen.de. Critics and comments are always welcome.

Have fun when discovering the old rituals of the maya priests... :-)

Tobias Schilgen.

english version

Ihre Meinung ist mir wichtig...


nach dem gleichnamigen Brettspiel, das der Hans-im-Glück Verlag veröffentlicht hat.

Entstehung

zur Entwicklung der Windowsvariante kam es eher zufällig: nachdem ich das Spiel in einem Paderborner Kaufhaus erstanden hatte, war ich nach kurzem Ausprobieren von der Einfachheit der Spielregeln und der strengen Logik und Strategie des Spieles angetan. Gleichzeitig hatte ich vor, ein paar Programmiertechniken auszuprobieren, die mir an der Uni beigebracht wurden und die neueste Delphi-Version (Entwicklungswerkzeug) lag im Regal und wollte getestet werden. Da ich in meiner Freizeit gerne Spiele programmiere, habe ich mich kurzerhand dazu entschieden, Yucata als Vorlage für eine Brettspielumsetzung in eine Windowsversion zu verwenden. Die jetzige Version stellt einen vorläufigen Abschluß dar: es gibt zwar noch viele Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten. Eine Netzwerkschnittstelle wäre noch eine Idee, so dass man das Brettspiel im lokalen Netz oder über das Internet mit mehreren Personen spielen könnte...

Geschichte

"Im dichten Urwald von Mexico, nahe der Stadt Palenque, steht der Sonnentempel der Maya. Die Felder des Spielplans YUCATA' entsprechen exakt den Gängen dieser bedeutenden archäologischen Fundstätte. Die hellen und die dunklen Steine symbolisieren die guten und die schlechten Einflüsse, die es zu suchen bzw. zu meiden gilt. Wahrscheinlich wurde YUCATA' ausschließlich von Priestern zu bestimmten Ritualen gespielt. Da aber Mayapriester heutzutage recht rar sind, können sich auch andere Sterbliche an das Spiel wagen, ohne den Zorn der Götter befürchten zu müssen."

Installation

Nach dem Download der Datei "YucataSetup.exe" (Größe: 2.8 MB, aktuelle Version: v1.8.1 (deutsch/englisch/französisch/tschechisch)) auf Ihren Rechner starten Sie einfach das Installationsprogramm durch Aufruf eben dieser Datei. Sämtliche ausführbaren Programmdateien der Installation sind mit einem aktuellen Virenscanner (McAfee) gescannt und daher nach dem Stand der Technik virenfrei. Voraussetzung für ein erfolgreiches Installieren ist ein Windows 95/98-System und ein Rechner mit mindestens 32 MB Hauptspeicher und einer HiColor-Grafikkarte (mit 65536 Farben). Mit einem 256-Farbenbildschirm funktioniert es zwar auch, aber die Farben werden sehr verfälscht. Eine ausführliche Erläuterung der Spielregeln und der Programmbedienung finden Sie nach der Installation im Hilfemenü des Programmes. Zur Anzeige der Hilfetexte wird der Internet Explorer von Microsoft ab Version 3.0 benötigt (für einige ältere Windows95 Installationen muß noch das folgende Update-Package von Microsoft installiert werden: HHUPD.exe).

Sollte das Setup nicht funktionieren, müssen Sie ggf. noch den Microsoft Windows Installer (ein Teil des Betriebssystems) updaten. Die entsprechenden Versionen finden Sie hier:

Windows Installer für Windows NT.
Windows Installer für Windows 9x.

e-Kontakt

Mit Fragen, Ideen und Verbesserungsvorschlägen (oder falls Sie mir einfach nur mitteilen wollen, wie Ihnen das Spiel gefällt) wenden Sie sich bitte an feedback@tobias-schilgen.de. Kritik und Kommentare sind immer willkommen.

Viel Spaß beim Entdecken der alten Rituale der Maya-Priester.... :-)

Tobias Schilgen.